Steering Committee Membership



Chair: Scott Reid, MP                     

Vice Chair: Mario Silva, MP


Raymonde Folco, MP                              Hon. Bob Rae, MP

Candice Hoeppner, MP                          Peter Stoffer, MP

Pat Martin, MP                                         David Sweet, MP


Ex-officio Members


Hon. Irwin Cotler, MP   

Hon. Jason Kenney, MP



Inquiry Panel Membership


Chair: Mario Silva, MP

Vice Chair: Scott Reid, MP


Hon. Carolyn Bennett, MP                      Pat Martin, MP

Lois Brown, MP

Hon. Ken Dryden, MP                             Hon. Anita Neville, MP

Rick Dykstra, MP                                     Peter Stoffer, MP

Raymonde Folco, MP                              David Sweet, MP

Hon. Hedy Fry, MP                                  Tim Uppal, MP

Randy Hoback, MP                                 Judy-Wasylycia Leis

Hon. Peter Kent, MP                               Jeff Watson, MP


Ex-officio Members


Hon. Irwin Cotler, MP                

Hon. Jason Kenney, MP





In February 2009, parliamentarians from around the world gathered in London for the inaugural conference of the Inter-parliamentary Committee for Combating Antisemitism. The conference brought together over 125 legislators from nearly 40 countries for two days of presentations and discussions on the increasing problem of antisemitism. The conference produced a resolution “The London Declaration for Combating Antisemitism” calling on all governments to face the problem of antisemitism, especially its manifestations in the media and academia. Under the leadership of Citizenship and Immigration Minister Jason Kenney, and International Steering Committee Chair Professor Irwin Cotler, a delegation of 11 Canadian Members of Parliament attended the conference in London. They returned with the desire to form a Canadian coalition to fight antisemitism here.

Antisemitism is not a new problem; however recorded incidents of antisemitism have been on the rise internationally. Furthermore, the problem is now being manifested in ways never experienced before. While accusations of blood libel or petty vandalism are still issues for the Jewish community, new fears have arisen especially for those who support the State of Israel. For example, on some university campuses, Jewish students are being threatened and intimidated to the point that they are not able to express pro-Israel sentiments freely, or are even fearful to wear a Jewish skull cap or Jewish star of David around their necks. Antisemitism represents a break from Canadian values, which promote the rights of all individuals to practice their religion, educate themselves, and express themselves with security and freedom.

The CPCCA (Canadian Parliamentary Coalition for Combating Antisemitism) was formed in March of 2009 and brought together 22 Parliamentarians from all parties in the House of Commons for the stated purpose of confronting and combating antisemitism in Canada today. The group is broken into two committees: the Inquiry Panel (chaired by MP Mario Silva) and the Steering Committee (chaired by MP Scott Reid).

The Inquiry was launched on June 2nd, with an open call for written submissions by the Canadian public. After receiving nearly 200 written submissions, the committee began its public hearings on the 2nd of November. At the conclusion of the hearings, the committee will produce a report to the Government of Canada, and anticipates that the Government will respond to this report no later than the fall of 2010.

The CPCCA is not affiliated with the Government of Canada, any NGO, or any advocacy group. It is associated with the Inter-parliamentary Coalition to Combat Antisemitism, the international steering committee which organized the conference in London in 2009.